Don’t Question my Religiousness

The amount of times a person came up to me

And asked me if I support violence as oppose to peaceful means

Is zero to none

Compared to questions of my religiousness

Because of my skinny jeans and western dress

“So you’re like the liberal ones”

Okay I guess…

Liberal because of my love for Locke?

Or because my hair was showing from that “useless” cloth?

Ah, might as well take it off

I mean since you are my judge

And of course no one else should be placed above

I just don’t get it

Because the faith I know preaches to do an action with good to be intended

Yet here I seem to be

Explaining myself to people who share the same beliefs as me

I am more trendy than the “dawah type”

I am a basically an airhead with no religion in physical site

Or when I assert myself as a women

I am a feminist fighting a cause that is not worth winning

When I challenge your school of thought

I incite reformist views

But my views were based on traditional basics from the very start

When I struggle but don’t show it

My religiousness is in question because everyone knows it

I will not lose my faith because you simply lost faith in me

I mean would you tell Umar (RA) to leave the community

because a faith was on the rise

And he was slowly becoming a minority

No, you wouldn’t because that wouldn’t be the sunnah you claim to be a part of.

Now don’t question my spirituality, my connection with God is my first priority

Yet, what becomes fitna is not my own hair showing but the fact you challenge my prayers and my intentions

A women committed adultery and went to Prophet (pbuh)

to simply repent but saw her action was to be overseen

Her repentance was enough to forgive 70 men in Medina

Mind you that composed of people who buried their daughters alive

Little girls who never got a chance in the world to be strong and thrive

Would you question her religiousness?

Of course not, the Prophet established her actions were none of anyone’s business

Now let me be, and advise me when in need

In private and sincerity

Based on kindness and not mere opinions.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑